Skip to content

Health & Biosecurity

Current status
Urgency level L4 Major News
Last material event

What matters now

CDC’s MMWR (published November 5, 2026) reports a cruise ship cluster of Andes virus infection with seven confirmed cases including three deaths, and describes identification and monitoring of 88 U.S. residents with potential exposure. CDC reports no secondary ANDV infections among monitored U.S. contacts.

Impact: Very high

WHO published a Disease Outbreak News item stating that France notified WHO on 20 October 2026 of the first documented human infection with Shamonda virus. French health authorities reported the case on 22 October 2026 in a severely immunocompromised patient who subsequently died. Official sources currently provide case notification and clinical outcome but do not provide broader epidemiologic details.

Impact: Very high

CDC published an Order that requires persons to attest they have not been present in the Democratic Republic of the Congo during the 21 days prior to boarding a flight to the United States. The supplied excerpt does not state how attestations must be collected or retained, nor does it provide an effective date or enforcement details.

U.S. Impact: Current Low · Potential Elevated

Impact: Very high

France notified WHO on 20 October 2026 of the first documented human infection with Shamonda virus, and WHO posted the notice on 1 November 2026. ECDC and Santé publique France published corroborating reports in October 2026 that the patient was severely immunocompromised and died.

Impact: Notable

ECDC reported that a confirmed Bundibugyo case was medically evacuated from Nigeria to Switzerland on 26 October 2026. Nigeria’s 26 October situation report records 54 contacts under follow-up for that case. CDC continues to list an ongoing Bundibugyo outbreak in the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

Impact: Very high

Urgency level L4 Major NewsUpdated ·

DRC government data shows Ebola deaths have topped 5,000

International news wires reported that DRC government data show cumulative deaths from the Ebola outbreak have 'topped 5,000'. The WHO Weekly Epidemiological Record published in October reported 4,381 confirmed deaths. The higher toll, if confirmed, indicates increased mortality and continued pressure on response operations and regional preparedness.

Impact: Notable

Nigeria’s single confirmed Bundibugyo virus case (reported 20 Oct) was medically evacuated to Switzerland and admitted to Geneva University Hospitals on 26 October 2026; Nigerian authorities and local reporting indicate roughly 53–54 primary contacts remain under follow-up. These reports document an imported case receiving specialist care abroad and ongoing contact-tracing operations in Nigeria.

Impact: Very high

On 26 Oct 2026 WHO (AFRO) reported that 20 contacts of Kenya’s first imported Bundibugyo case were released after completing the mandatory 21-day monitoring period. The same WHO update states that eight contacts developed symptoms and were confirmed positive, and that Kenya has reported nine confirmed cases and two deaths. The release reduces the active monitoring caseload by 20 but the outbreak remains active.

Impact: Very high

AP News, citing the World Health Organization, reports that a nurse was killed and a health worker was severely injured while responding to an Ebola alert in Congo. The attack raises security concerns for response teams; the extent and duration of any disruption to surveillance, vaccination, or safe-burial activities have not been confirmed.

Impact: Notable

A nurse was killed and a health worker severely injured while responding to an Ebola alert in Bafwasende, Tshopo province, according to WHO and multiple international media reports. The identity and motive of the attackers and the incident's effect on local response activities are not yet clear.

Impact: Very high

The Associated Press reported that Uganda is reinforcing border controls and now requires citizens returning from neighboring Democratic Republic of Congo to spend 21 days in quarantine at their own expense. The measure is presented as a national containment policy; implementation details were not included in the wire report.

Impact: Very high

On 23 October the WHO reported that the TUMAINI vaccine trial was launched and that first participants were enrolled in Bunia. The WHO excerpt cited does not specify the trial phase, the vaccine candidates, or the pathogen being targeted. Additional official details (protocol, sponsor, trial registry entry) are needed to assess the trial's scale and potential impact.

Impact: Very high

WHO’s Disease Outbreak News (data current to 20 Oct 2026) reports 9,704 confirmed Bundibugyo cases and 4,687 deaths in DRC. The same WHO update reports nine cases (including one death) in Kenya and one imported case in Nigeria. These summaries are drawn from the WHO report and reflect national notifications consolidated by WHO.

Impact: High

Kenya's Health Ministry announced that a 65‑year‑old close relative of the country's index Ebola patient died after developing symptoms while in quarantine. The ministry described this as the country's second Ebola death, indicating the fatality is linked to a traced contact chain rather than confirmed untraced community spread. The new death increases immediate operational workload for contact monitoring and infection prevention in facilities handling contacts.

Impact: Notable

ECDC reported that "all listed contacts (135 people) [are] being followed up as of 22 October 2026" in Kenya. WHO AFRO confirmed that "Laboratory test confirmed Bundibugyo virus on 20 October" in Nigeria. These notices show active contact tracing in Kenya and a laboratory-confirmed Bundibugyo infection in Nigeria; the extent of any onward transmission remains uncertain.

Impact: Very high

On 20 Oct 2026 Nigeria reported one imported case of Bundibugyo Ebola, with symptom onset on 7 Oct and laboratory confirmation on 20 Oct. ECDC reports the individual had travel history to Uganda and that 44 contacts have been identified; epidemiological investigations are ongoing.

Impact: Notable

Africa CDC announced it will convene a high-level virtual meeting of African Ministers of Health on 28 October 2026 to address the escalating Ebola outbreak spreading across multiple regions. The Oct. 28 meeting was described as an "extraordinary virtual meeting" intended to "strengthen our collective response."

Impact: High

AP wire stories on 21 Oct 2026 report roughly 9,500 infections and at least 4,600 deaths from the Bundibugyo Ebola outbreak in the DRC, and state African health ministers were invited to an "extraordinary virtual meeting" to discuss the situation. The WHO regional Disease Outbreak News excerpt provided documents high case counts in Ituri but does not confirm cases outside the DRC in the cited text; formal confirmations should be watched in WHO/Africa CDC updates.

Impact: Notable

Africa CDC announced it will convene a high-level virtual meeting of African Ministers of Health on 28 October 2026 to address the Bundibugyo Ebola outbreak. The agency said the outbreak continues in the DRC and that "cases now reported in Kenya and Nigeria," and described spread across "Central, Eastern and Western Africa," prompting elevated continental concern and a planned ministerial response.

Impact: High

On 20 October 2026 Nigeria's Federal Ministry of Health/NCDC and WHO Regional Office for Africa reported one laboratory‑confirmed imported case of Ebola Bundibugyo in the Federal Capital Territory (Abuja). Authorities identified 44 close contacts who are being monitored and have activated contact‑tracing and response measures. The CDC continues to maintain certain temporary U.S. entry restrictions and screening policies for travelers from specified affected countries.

Impact: High

AP reported both Nigeria’s and Kenya’s first confirmed Bundibugyo Ebola patients traveled through Uganda’s Entebbe International Airport on Oct. 3. AP also reported Nigeria is tracing 44 contacts. A syndicated report stated, "The information supplied to WHO did not include travel to another country (other than Uganda)."

Impact: High

Urgency level L3 Important NewsNew ·

Anadolu Agency: "bringing the total to nine (9) confirmed cases"

Anadolu Agency published an update reporting the confirmed Ebola case count as "nine (9) confirmed cases." The AA excerpt provides only the updated case count and does not specify location, virus strain, or public-health response details. This increment in reported confirmed cases warrants monitoring of official health sources for confirmation and further epidemiological information.

Impact: Very high

On 19 October 2026 WHO's Prequalification office added the BioFire® Global Fever Special Pathogens Panel to the Emergency Use Listing (EUL). The WHO notice states the product "has been assessed only for Ebolavirus/BDBV detection claims."

Impact: Notable

Urgency level L4 Major NewsUpdated ·

Kenya reports one new Ebola confirmation, raising total to nine

Kenyan health officials reported one new confirmed Ebola case, raising the country's total from 8 to nine; AP says the newly positive person had been a contact and tested positive while in quarantine. This modestly increases the outbreak's confirmed count and requires continuation of contact-tracing and quarantine management.

Impact: Notable

Kenyan authorities have been reported to confirm four additional cases of Bundibugyo Ebola virus disease, three of whom are health workers who cared for the country's first imported case, bringing the reported national total to seven. Multiple news outlets cited the Kenya Ministry of Health in reporting these new cases. Health-worker infections can indicate possible nosocomial transmission and merit close monitoring and updated official reporting.

Impact: Very high

Urgency level L3 Important NewsUpdated ·

DR Congo health unions call nationwide strike during major Ebola emergency

DR Congo's ISS-RDC health-sector union coalition announced a nationwide strike effective October 15 at 08:00 Kinshasa time (07:00 UTC). A union coordinator says Ebola-affected areas are included, with only reduced emergency and isolation services planned. The actual number of disrupted facilities remains unverified.

Impact: High

BioNTech says its BNT113 plus pembrolizumab regimen did not significantly improve progression-free survival in the AHEAD-MERIT Phase 2/3 trial for HPV16-positive advanced head-and-neck cancer. The trial continues to test overall survival, so a final negative outcome has not been established.

U.S. Impact: Low

Impact: High

WHO's October 8 disease-outbreak report documents the first laboratory-confirmed imported Bundibugyo Ebola case in Kenya, following travel from the DRC through Uganda, and 8,728 confirmed cases and 4,205 deaths in the DRC as of October 6. Contact tracing is underway in Kenya and Uganda.

Impact: Very high

What changed

8 updated in this window.

Score meanings

Overall Impact combines significance and the larger market or global effect. Market Impact measures magnitude, not market direction. Confidence describes the strength of support, not the consequence. Scores are out of 100.

Listen to CHRONOS Wire →